After a day to digest what transpired in the final round of the ANA Inspiration, Lexi Thompson took to social media to congratulate winner So Yeon Ryu.
She also thanked fans for their support and made clear that the infraction which resulted in a four-stroke penalty was unintentional.
“I would never do that purposely,” she said. “And I hope everyone knows that.”
Here’s a look at her full Instagram post:
Let me start by congratulating Seo Yun RYu on her playoff victory yesterday at the ANA Inspiration. She fought extremely hard and played amazing golf. I don’t want anything that happened yesterday to take away from Seo Yun’s victory. The LPGA rules officials made a judgment call at the moment, and we as professional golfers must accept it, no matter how painful it is. What happened was not intentional at all, I would never do that purposely. And I hope everyone knows that. I want to thank the amazing fans out on the course for all their support. Their cheering helped get me through those last 6 holes. Hearing all the fans cheer me on after every shot, going to every tee, truly brought tears to my eyes every time. I also want to thank the fans around the world who have reached out to me to offer their support, and for being there for me in this difficult situation. Your support means so much to me ……. I'm so blessed to have you all as my fans. I love you all and the game of golf, and I look forward to seeing all of you very soon.